In Between

Greetings folks.

This is a long overdue post. Summer has been somewhat of a roller-coaster. I had the pleasure of doing a mentorship with the amazing Sean Yang, it was very informative and I’m proud of the work I did, Sean’s guidance was a welcome help. The only catch is that most of that work is still somehow unfinished. I’ve re-enrolled at Emily Carr University and between being a student and working nearly full time as a supervisor at Starbucks, I don’t feel like I have the emotional and mental energy required to give those pieces the proper finish they deserve.  I hope an opportunity to bring them to completion will arise soon.

What I CAN show from the mentorship are these 3 concept pieces. Gallie and Ligart are our main characters in this little adventure down the southern parts of the Lokrus continent. Ligart is a herpetologist professor and is looking to do field research. Gallie is hired as a guide and protector to accompany the professor in the journey. They meet up in Nereus, and head south into the woods.

The snake-resembling rocks is part of the multitude of weird things they find along the way.

ligart-and-gallieexpression-sheetsnake-pillars04

Next up are some sketches/illustrations. I’ve been trying to convey more character and narrative trough my work. While I feel like most of them still miss the mark, it has been a lot of fun to explore those aspects deeper.

I’d like to give credit where it due here. I’ve been braving trough this territory using a few artists as guides, goals and inspiration. Kim Jung Gi, Saskia Gutekunst and Pietro Antognioni are their names, and you should definitely make yourself familiar with their amazing work, not only for their sheer drawing power and technique, but for how much story and personality is imbued in each and every drawing they produce.

This is one that I consider to be a bit more successful than some of the others. A low class kid, tired from the day, falls asleep while trying to replace their broken toe.

s711_cyborgboy_02

This one was extremely personal. My best companion past away recently and I wanted to make a memoir to the time we spent together. I’m afraid that due to under-planning, the drawing ended up being more about the room than him. Still working on how to make emotionally meaningful work for myself. It doesn’t come as easy as I thought it would.

s700_bunkbed05

A take on Baba Yaga.

s719_babayaga_001

Witches dress up for Halloween as Morrigan and Wednesday.

s717_bigsmallwitch_small

At some point I was experiencing skate culture vicariously through instagram and this is a byproduct of that. I feel like I’m missing the mark a bit with the character development/storytelling as these witches aren’t half as tenacious as the real-world females who habit these extremely masculine environments. Nothing but respect for them.
s709_skatingwitches

A 1 page comic about that one time my father “accidentally” registered me in the wrong program that was a 5 hour drive from home, rather then the one he taught, a mere 20 minute walk away.

s718_adayinthelifeofandre3000

Sketches of your favourite DPS-pretending-to-tank hero.

s716_hookems715_herelittlepiggy

I’ve been drawing a LOT of witches lately.

s694_partyhatss698_darkwitchs699_boringwitch

Sketches of friends

s702_beehivekeepers695_brosrpgparty

A Pelican-Jug

s710_pelicanpitcher_final

Those are “hot-seat-collabs”. Collaborations were we switch seats every 10-20 minutes. Farily fast paced, loads of fun, and so far yielding nice results.

First one done with Brendan and Amanda

s692_witchcollab

These three were done with Gleisson Cipriano

s703_surfingwitchcollabs704_cellphonewitchcollabs705_rollerbitchcollab

Miscellaneous studies

s696_abstractthumbss697_abstractthumbsss213_3valuescompsmsy_001_snakesden_thumbsmsy_001_snakesden_thumbs02msy_001_snakesden_thumbs04msy_001_snakesden_thumbs05bw-movie-compsbw-movie-studies

Leave a comment